Who Are You?

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. – Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV).

I am who I am.  I am not the most brilliant.  I am not the most creative.  I am not the prettiest.  I am not the most personable one-hundred percent of the time, but I am me.

What is right for you might not be right for me.  What might be right for everyone else still might not be the right choice for me.

I wasn’t called to be you.  I wasn’t called to be Billy Graham, Steve Jobs, Donald Trump or even Mother Theresa.  I was called to be me.  With all my flaws, with all my talent, my gifts and personality.

Too many times I have let people dictate what I should do, the decision I should make, the way I should live my life.  Only those choices weren’t right for me.  They didn’t reflect who I am.

People, specifically members of my family, have tried to change me into who they think that I should be.  They compared me to their children, their grandchildren, their nieces and nephews.   I am not those people.

Who I am, what I do and who I hang around, with is up to me.  My mistakes, my successes, my failures, are mine, and mine alone, to make.

God called me to a specific purpose.  God has called you to a specific purpose as well.

He gave us each a specific assignment that only we can fulfill.  He did this because He believes in us.

Do you believe in yourself, in God, enough to pursue what you were put on this Earth to do?  Or are you content to continue living the way you have been living?

Do you want the mark you leave behind to be ordinary or extraordinary?

You will only be truly happy when you fulfill God’s plan for your life.  When you do, know that He will always do exceedingly above and beyond anything you can hope for, dream or desire (Ephesians 3:20).

You can’t even begin to imagine the great things God has planned for yu when you follow His plan instead of yours (I Corinthians 2:9).

#purpose #Jesus #God #hope #Bible

 

 

Leave a Reply

